Volleyball All-Conference Award Winners Announced

Volleyball All-Conference Award Winners Announced

SALEM, N.C. - The GSAC announced the volleyball All-Conference awards winners at a banquet on Salem's campus Friday night and Lauren Aikens of Agnes Scott took home the top prize of Volleyball Player of the Year. Salem's Zykeya Henderson claimed Libero of the Year, her teammate Kylie Taffer collected Freshman of the Year and their head coach, Dana Wall, won Coach of the Year.

Lauren Aikens of Agnes Scott, a senior middle hitter from Conyers, Ga., was a dominant presence on the court this season for the Scotties. Aikens was the individual leader in four of the major eight stat categories, including leading the league in kills per set with 3.08. Additionally, Aikens also led the conference kills (228), hitting percentage (.246) and blocks per set (.77) on her way to capturing Player of the Year honors.

Zykeya Henderson of Salem, a senior Libero from Spartanburg, S.C., has enjoyed a temendous career for the Spirits and was the leader on the squad of Salem's second straight regular season crown. She has catapulted Salem into the national eye with her astounding digs per set rate which ranks in the top-10 nationwide. On the season, Henderson collected a whopping 515 digs and a stellar 6.36 digs per set mark.

Kylie Taffer, a freshman middle blocker from Merritt Island, Fla.,stamped her candidacy for Freshman of the Year by being one of the deadliest kill machines n the league. With 207 kills on the season and a 2.96 kills per set ratio, Taffer checked in at second-best in both categories. Additionally, she displayed her versatility by notching the third most service aces in GSAC competition.

Dana Wall took over the Salem volleyball program in 2012 and immediately put the Spirits on the map, guiding Salem to the 2012 GSAC Championship and a berth to the NCAA's. She has followed that up by guiding Salem to back-to-back GSAC regular season titles. Wall came to Salem with over 3 decades of experience as a player, instructor, and coach. She is currently the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) North Carolina State Chair and Director, and will be a delegate at this years AAU National Convention.

2014 GSAC Volleyball All-Conference Team

Lauren Aikens of Agnes Scott
Shakira Dodson of Agnes Scott
Shelli Sherman of Agnes Scott
Augustine Brutus of Finlandia
Shannon Brown of Maine, Presque-Isle
Destiny Mann of Pine Manor
Ashley Whiteshield of Pine Manor
Zykeya Henderson of Salem
Hillary McPhatter of Salem
Roslyn Nixon of Salem
Taylor Rhodes of Salem
Kylie Taffer of Salem
Diamond Hudson of Wesleyan
Chermaine Johnson of Wesleyan

2014 GSAC Volleyball All-Freshman Team

Bonnie Derks of Agnes Scott
Emma Nelson of Finlandia
Ashley Whiteshield of Pine Manor
Bernisha Master of Salem
Kylie Taffer of Salem
Ameyna Saunders-Jackson of Trinity
Myra Sanchez of Wesleyan

2014 GSAC Volleyball All-Acdemic Award Winners

Agnes Scott: Shelli Sherman, Kayleigh McCrary, Briana Vannoy
Finlandia: Katelyn Anderson, Lynette Hokenson
Maine-Presque Isle: Shannon Brown, Morgan Swan, Katie Patenaude, Molly Lindsey
Mills: Emma Baumeister, Julia Harencar
Pine Manor: Phalogne Pierre, Susan Le
Salem: Brandy Bednorz, Roslyn Nixon, Taylor Rhodes
Trinity: Brittany Wilkerson, Shelby Swann
Wesleyan: Hannah Finch, Chermaine Johnson, Myra Sanchez

2014 GSAC Volleyball All-Sportsmanship Award Winners

Agnes Scott: Destiny Dawkins
Finlandia: Kellie Maddox
Maine-Presque Isle: Abby Jewett
Mills: Brittany Docherty
Pine Manor: Susan Le
Salem: Chanice Williams
Trinity: Shelby Swann
Wesleyan: Hannah Finch

View: Mobile | Desktop