Women's Tennis All-Conference Award Winners Announced

Women's Tennis All-Conference Award Winners Announced

ATLANTA – The Great South Athletic Conference (GSAC) announced the postseason award winners in the sport of women's tennis on Friday night at a banquet in Macon, Ga. Maddie Hoffman of Agnes Scott captured Player of the Year while Amy Leslie of UCSC won Freshman of the Year. The Scotties' head coach, T.J. Greggs, was named Coach of the Year by his peers for the second straight season.

Maddie Hoffman (pictured at right), a sophomore from Mission Viejo, Calif., followed up her Freshman of the Year campaign in 2015 with the league's top honor in 2016. She dominated GSAC matches this season to earn the Player of the Year distinction, posting an unblemished 4-0 record in both singles and doubles matches. In all, the sophomore only dropped six games total in GSAC play.

A freshman from San Jacinto, Calif., Amy Leslie was the top performer for the University of California-Santa Cruz in 2016. In only her first year on the collegiate courts, Leslie posted four dual match victories for the Banana Slugs this season. She finished the season with a 3-1 overall record against Division III opponents.

T.J. Greggs just completed his fourth season at Agnes Scott, a year in which he guided the Scotties to a 9-8 overall record and a perfect 4-0 mark in GSAC matches. His efforts landed the Scotties the No. 2 seed in the 2016 GSAC Tennis Tournament and elevated Greggs to his second straight GSAC Tennis Coach of the Year award. Prior to Agnes Scott, Greggs served as the head men's tennis coach at Kennesaw State University. Greggs began his career at Kennesaw in 2006 as the Director of Tennis Operations where he served as the women's head coach. Greggs played tennis at Westminster College, Pa. While there, he was a two-time All-Keystone/Empire Collegiate College performer.

2016 GSAC Tennis Awards
Player of the Year: Maddie Hoffman of Agnes Scott
Freshman of the Year: Amy Leslie of UCSC
Coach of the Year: T.J. Greggs of Agnes Scott

Tennis All-Conference Team
No. 1: Maddie Hoffman of Agnes Scott
No. 1: Andrea Akers of Salem
No. 1: Sylvia Brummitt of UCSC
No. 2: Taylor Lee of Agnes Scott
No. 2: Deanna Wilkins of Salem
No. 2: Islay Fossett of UCSC
No. 3: Anastasia Bennett of Agnes Scott
No. 3: Zoe Brook of UCSC
No. 4: Nikki Langford of Agnes Scott
No. 5: Amy Leslie of UCSC
No. 6: Samaria Spencer-Hall of Wesleyan 

Doubles Combinations
No. 1: Maddie Hoffman and Taylor Lee (7-10 overall, 4-0 in GSAC)
No. 2: Nikki Langford and Camille Wilson (5-7 overall, 2-0 in GSAC; 1-3 at No. 3, 1-0 GSAC at No. 3)
No. 3: Magdalena Wimmler and Jumana Master (2-1 overall, 1-0 in GSAC  

Tennis All-Freshman Team
Anling Kaplan of Agnes Scott
Mariah Lopez of Agnes Scott
Pricilla Solis of Salem
Amy Leslie of UCSC 

Tennis All-Academic Team

Agnes Scott
Kai Beard
Anastasia Bennett
Katrina Cavens
Jumana Master
Lena Wimmler
Isabel Zhao

Andrea Akers
Ashley Koehler
Allie Watkins

Zoe Brook
Islay Fossett
Eva Buciek

Keondria Epps
Mingying Cheng
Jing Lan

All-Sportsmanship Team
Agnes Scott: Mariah Lopez
Mills: Jade Escalante
Salem: Allie Watkins
UCSC: Melanie Waechtler
Wesleyan: Samaria Spence-Hall



View: Mobile | Desktop