Women's Basketball All-Conference Award Winners Announced

Women's Basketball All-Conference Award Winners Announced

ATLANTA – The Great South Athletic Conference (GSAC) held a banquet on Friday evening in Winston-Salem to celebrate the 2015-16 GSAC Women's Basketball All-Conference award winners. Quntashea Lewis of Salem captured Player of the Year honors while Caitlin Hewitt of Finlandia won the Freshman of the Year distinction. Todd Kent of UC-Santa Cruz was named Coach of the Year following voting by his peers.

Salem's Quntashea Lewis (pictured at right), a senior forward from Hartford, Conn., captured the 2015-16 GSAC Player of the Year honor after leading the league in both scoring (20.1 ppg) and rebounding (13.2 rpg) in a dominant final season on the hard wood in which she accumulated 16 double-doubles. She was named GSAC Player of the Week six times in 2015-16 and not only did she lead the league in scoring but also finished second overall in field goal percentage at 47.2%. Lewis stamped her candidacy as the league's top performer by demonstrating defensive prowess as well, forcing 54 steals on the season (second-best among all players).

Caitlin Hewitt, a first-year performer from Ishpeming, Mich., enjoyed a stellar inaugural season en route to capturing Freshman of the Year honors. An integral component to the Finlandia offense and defense, Hewitt demonstrated great shooting range in ranking second overall in the league in 3-point shooting percentage at 36.0%. Despite only starting four contests, Hewitt's tireless work on the defensive end of the floor yielded 24 thefts on the campaign. She averaged 7.1 points per game, 1.9 rebounds per game and 1.9 assists per game in an all-around outstanding freshman season for the Lions.

Todd Kent, head coach at UC-Santa Cruz, was named 2015-16 GSAC Women's Basketball Coach of the Year after guiding the Banana Slugs to a 13-11 overall record and the top seed in the GSAC Tournament. Kent just completed his sixth season with UCSC as the most successful head coach in program history. Over the past five seasons Kent has taken the Slugs to an unprecedented level of success by setting the school record for wins in a season each of the past three years. Kent is a graduate of Eastern Washington University where he earned his degree in Recreation and Leisure Service Management. He received his Master's In Teaching degree from Heritage University in 2003.

2015-16 GSAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Team
Laniqua Collins of Agnes Scott
Julia Daavettila of Finlandia
Becky Onan of Mount Mary
Alexis Lee of Pine Manor
Sybil Lynch of Pine Manor
Quntashea Lewis of Salem
Mikayla Seivers of Salem
Sabrina Shepherd of Salem
Ashley Holmes of UC-Santa Cruz
Trina Torres of UC-Santa Cruz

2015-16 GSAC Women's Basketball All-Freshman Team
Jakaria Fleming of Agnes Scott
Caitlin Hewitt of Finlandia
Taylor Martin of Pine Manor
Tamara Blanton of Salem
Taylor Thigpen of Wesleyan

2015-16 GSAC Women's Basketball All-Sportsmanship Team
Zoey Perchaluk of Agnes Scott
Hayley Makela of Finlandia
Shandrieka Richardson of Mount Mary
Siera Robinson of Pine Manor
Daisha Bunn of Salem
Ashley Holmes of UCSC
Keiona Benjamin of Wesleyan

2015-16 GSAC Women's Basketball All-Academic Team
Laniqua Collins of Agnes Scott
Grace Keheley of Agnes Scott
Julia Daavettila of Finlandia
Mikayla Hakala of Finlandia
Kelsie Richards of Finlandia
Ariel Oviedo of Mount Mary
Sarah Fink of Mount Mary
Cat Bernthall of Mount Mary
Madeline Smith of Mount Mary
Sybil Lynch of Pine Manor
Alexihonna Bush of Salem
Quntashea Lewis of Salem
Hannah McBride of Salem
Elizabeth Penley of Salem
Lashay Alexander of UCSC
Jasmine Dimson of UCSC
Ashley Holmes of UCSC
Sonya ivanovic of UCSC
Katherine Mauldin of UCSC
Shoshana Merriman of UCSC
Michelle Poole of UCSC
Amanda Spence of UCSC
Tyler Stewart of UCSC
Anne Susco of UCSC
Trina Torres of UCSC
Madison Van Zandt of UCSC
Katelyn Young of UCSC
Justice Thigpen of Wesleyan
Alyssa Whitford of Wesleyan

View: Mobile | Desktop