About The GSAC

About The Great South Athletic Conference
The purpose of the Great South Athletic Conference is to provide an association through which the membership may encourage organized competition in intercollegiate sports. In particular, we recognize athletics as integral to the campus life program of our students and as essential to the total development of our student-athletes. We direct significant institutional resources to our athletic programs to assure that student-athletes have appropriate coaching, facilities, equipment and opportunities for travel to compete against other conference schools.

The GSAC is made up of NCAA Division III (full-fledged or provisional status) schools located in Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina and Tennessee. 

To celebrate a full decade of membership, the league unveiled a new logo and identity for the 2010-11 season.  The old logo and color scheme served the conference for 10 years (2000-2010).

GSAC History
The Great South Athletic Conference was founded in 1999 as a group of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III member institutions from the Southeast with similar academic and athletic interests. Charter members include Fisk University, LaGrange College, Maryville College, Piedmont College and Stillman College. In 2002, Huntingdon College and women’s colleges Agnes Scott College and Wesleyan College were granted membership. In 2003, Spelman College and Wesleyan College were admitted to the GSAC on a provisional basis and given full membership status in 2005. Salem College, a women’s school in Winston Salem, NC, becomes the conference’s eighth member for the 2009-10 season.   Stillman dropped out of the conference following the 2001-02 season. Fisk University dropped out of the conference following the 2005-06 season. Covenant College, location on top of Lookout Mountain in northwest Georgia, joined the conference in Spring 2010 and began playing in Fall 2010.  Covenant is currently completing its requirements for NCAA Division III provisional status.

GSAC Historical Timeline
2010 - Conference releases new logo and identity to celebrate completion of first decade of existence.
2010 - Admitted Covenant College. 
2009 - Admitted Salem College.
2003 - Admitted Spelman College and Wesleyan College.
2002 - Admitted Agnes Scott College and Huntingdon College.
2000 - First year with charter members Fisk University, LaGrange College, Maryville College, Piedmont College, Stillman College.

Former GSAC Members
Stillman College (2000-2002)
Fisk University (2000-2006)

View: Mobile | Desktop